About Us

It is an exciting time to be in food science!

Food scientists develop new ways to take raw agricultural products and turn them into the food products that consumers want to buy. From creating functional foods that support health and also taste good, to developing packaging that protects food from E. coli and other pathogens, food scientists work to ensure the foods that fill our shopping carts are safe, nutritious and delicious.

The Food Science program at the University of Missouri has a strong tradition in consumer acceptance research, chemistry, meat and ice cream processing, microbiology and food processing.

Undergraduate Program IFT approvedThe program is within the Division of Food, Nutrition and Exercise Sciences, one of six administrative divisions in the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources.

Across the University of Missouri community, we collaborate with researchers in medicine, veterinary medicine, animal sciences, biochemistry, nutritional sciences, biological sciences, chemistry and microbiology.

Internships are required as part of the food science degree program, and often lead to job offers. We have a broad network of industry relationships through the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) – our courses are IFT approved.

  • MU Food Science places nearly all graduates (98%) by time of graduation with an average starting salary of $52,250 in 2017.
  • Successful MU Food Science alums include Vice President of Coca-Cola and Sr. Director of General Mills.
  • Where are MU graduates? Nestle, Purina, ConAgra, Cadbury Schweppes, Frick’s Meats, Kerry Ingredients, International Food Products, Givaudan Flavors, Unilever, Hormel, Aramark, Anheuser Busch, Danisco.
  • Yearly Food Science scholarships awarded to our students.
  • Food Product development competitions and networking opportunities with industry leaders every month.
  • International perspectives representing the global food network through our faculty members and our students from India, Malaysia, Thailand, Canada, Germany, Turkey, Iran, Iraq, Mexico and China.